top of page

Outline for Reflection and Final Project

For my final project I would like to do an original sci-fi piece. I did not exactly think about what themes I wanted to incorporate in order to create my story. Instead, I just started brainstorming story ideas, and this one materialized and I am refining the details. As I think about the characters and situation, I am thinking about what would be interesting to imagine, explore and play with.

Here are some rough elements of my story (of course it will change as I get more ideas):

Setting is sometime in the near future of Earth (within the next fifty years)

Civilizations have split into an extremely wealthy elite minority and a desperately poor majority

Climate change has wiped out greenery in cities, led to many extinctions, and submerged major coastal cities

Main characters:

A headstrong ‘female’ humanoid

A sensitive and emotional ‘male’ humanoid

A beautiful, brilliant, woman scientist

More to come!

I’m not sure where the story will take itself in terms of a plot yet.

Themes I think this story will explore are gender/feminism/sexuality as well as feminism from a man’s perspective (inspired by Bell Hooks reading). This story will also explore ‘otherness’ from the perspective of a robot. (Inspirations from “Rachel in Love” and “Rachel”.) I also hope to make points about having male or female attributes despite being in a body casing that demands otherwise (Schofield TED talk). This I think I will do through having the robots made as ‘male’ or ‘female’. I also want to show how gender roles can be just as harmful to men as they are to women (as was mentioned in the Bell Hooks reading). I will try to show parallels between the robots and slavery in the US (hopefully this will not be taken the wrong way). I think mind-body duality could also be explored here, since robots would act as more rational than humans, they could put all humans, male and female, into the category of being animal-like (literally).

As I have not yet done any readings for the other units I’m not sure how/whether my story will incorporate their themes.

I’m not entirely sure why I’ve chosen the positions of the themes I have. I think I was just choosing things that stuck with me, made an impact on me, or themes I just think about when I try to sleep at night. Of course, these all naturally hang in place in my head with the vague plot ideas I’ve run through.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page